If you are charged with the offence of domestic violence, our Oakland criminal defense attorney has the legal knowledge to help you fight against the tough prosecution you are facing. California laws make it a criminal offense to use physical force against an intimate or domestic partner.
Under California Penal Code § 273.5, domestic violence can be charged when an infliction of corporal injury has taken place to a spouse, lover, or another family member. California Penal Code § 243(e)(1) pc makes it a misdemeanor offense to inflict violence on an intimate partner.
The specific penalty you may face if convicted of domestic violence will depend on various factors, including the seriousness of the injuries and the defendant's criminal past. Many counties throughout the state of California impose a 30-day minimum sentence in jail for even first-time misdemeanor sentences, however. In many cases, the judge will require the convicted person to attend a 52-week class for domestic batterers.
When domestic violence or battery is charged, you will need to obtain the legal guidance of our firm. At The Castillo Law Office, our Oakland domestic violence lawyer has close to 15 years of experience handling cases of this magnitude. We know that innocent individuals are frequently charged with domestic violence and we know what defenses can be used.
If you are convicted, your reputation within the community and ability to see your family may be severely impacted. Convictions of domestic violence can also prohibit the alleged offender from possessing a firearm.